Maurizio Onnis & Luca Crippa The Auschwitz Photographer

€14.99

Code 9780857527462
Add to Basket
Description

When Germany invaded Wilhelm Brasse's native Poland in 1939, he was asked to swear allegiance to Hitler and join the Wehrmacht. He refused. He was deported to Auschwitz concentration camp as political prisoner number 3444.

A trained portrait photographer, he was ordered by the SS to record the inner workings of the camp. He began by taking identification photographs of the prisoners as they entered the camp, went on to capture the criminal medical experiments of Josef Mengele, and also recorded executions.

Between 1940 and 1945, Brasse took around 50,000 photographs of the horror around him. He took them because he had no choice.

Eventually, Brasse's conscience wouldn't allow him to hide behind his camera. First he risked his life by joining the camp's Resistance movement, faking documents for prisoners, trying to smuggle images to the outside world to reveal what was happening. Then, when Soviet troops finally advanced on the camp to liberate it, Brasse refused SS orders to destroy his photographs. 'Because the world must know,' he said.

For readers of The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Boy Who Followed His Father into Auschwitz, this extraordinary true story of horror, hope and courage lies at the very heart of the Holocaust.

About the Author

Luca Crippa is an expert in theology and philosophy. He has worked as a research professor and editorial consultant for many years. He is the author of a number of history text books and essays, historical novels and documentaries.

Maurizio Onnis has travelled extensively in developing countries and has studied anthropology and history of religions and cultures. He has written historical novels and screenplays.

Delivery Info

We provide FREE delivery in the Republic of Ireland when you spend €49 or more. 

FREE Click & Collect from The Ennis Bookshop. You will not be charged for this service.  We are happy to arrange Delivery outside Ireland. Please e-mail us at enquiries@ennisbookshop.ie for more information. 

Find out more about our Delivery & Collection services

Returns Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your order and we would hope to resolve any problems you may have. If you are unhappy with your purchase, we will exchange or refund the item or issue a credit note, providing the goods are not damaged and all packaging is still intact.

Terms and conditions apply.

Please view our full Returns Policy for further information.

Click to view complete product details

'Brasse has left us with a powerful legacy in images. Because of them we can see the victims of the Holocaust as human and not statistics.'
- Fergal Keane

'The authors have woven a remarkable tale of survival against all the odds... They have done their research and created an enthralling book that, while telling an almost incredible tale, shows profound respect to the victims of one of history's darkest episodes.'
- The Sydney Morning Herald

Close

POP-IN HTML goes here

Close

Your Basket

Your basket is currently empty