Dervla McTiernan The Ruin

€12.85

Code 9780751569315
Add to Basket
Description

Shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year

Shortlisted for the RTE Listeners' Choice Award

Shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2018

February 1993

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

March 2013

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

Dervla McTiernan's powerful debut The Ruin draws us into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner.

About the Author

Internationally bestselling and critically acclaimed writer Dervla McTiernan is the author of The Ruin and The Scholar, the first two books in her ongoing crime series set in Ireland. The Ruin, the first in the detective Cormac Reilly series, has been published in the United States, the UK and Ireland and in New Zealand and Australia, where it was a top ten bestseller.

The Ruin was an Amazon Best Book of July 2018, and was shortlisted for numerous awards including a Barry Award, the Kate O'Brien Award, and two categories of the Irish Book Awards and the Australian Industry Book Awards. The Scholar (coming soon to the US and the UK!) is already a top ten bestseller in Australia and Ireland.

Dervla spent twelve years working as a lawyer. Following the global financial crisis, she moved to Australia and turned her hand to writing. An avid fan of crime and detective novels from childhood, Dervla wrote a short story, The Roommate, which was shortlisted for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto Competition. She went on to write The Ruin, and The Scholar - the third book in the series, The Good Turn, will be out 2020. The Ruin has been optioned for TV by Hopscotch.

Dervla is a member of the Sisters in Crime and Crime Writers Association, and lives in Perth, Australia, with her husband and two children.

Delivery Info

We provide FREE delivery in the Republic of Ireland when you spend €49 or more. 

FREE Click & Collect from The Ennis Bookshop. You will not be charged for this service.  We are happy to arrange Delivery outside Ireland. Please e-mail us at enquiries@ennisbookshop.ie for more information. 

Find out more about our Delivery & Collection services

Returns Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your order and we would hope to resolve any problems you may have. If you are unhappy with your purchase, we will exchange or refund the item or issue a credit note, providing the goods are not damaged and all packaging is still intact.

Terms and conditions apply.

Please view our full Returns Policy for further information.

Click to view complete product details

'Spectacularly good'
- Marian Keyes

'A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters'
- Laura Marshall

'Brilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat!'
- Sunday Mirror

'An exciting new voice in Irish noir'
- Sunday Times

'Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced'
- Val McDermid

'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot'
- Irish Examiner

'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping'
- Caz Frear

'The Ruin is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre'
- Chris Brrokmyre

'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden'
- Karen Dionne

Close

POP-IN HTML goes here

Close

Your Basket

Your basket is currently empty