Greg Buchanan Sixteen Horses

€17.50

Code 9781529027174
Add to Basket
Description

Near the dying English seaside town of Ilmarsh, local police detective Alec Nichols discovers sixteen horses' heads on a farm, each buried with a single eye facing the low winter sun. After forensic veterinarian Cooper Allen travels to the scene, the investigators soon uncover evidence of a chain of crimes in the community - disappearances, arson and mutilations - all culminating in the reveal of something deadly lurking in the ground itself.

In the dark days that follow, the town slips into panic and paranoia. Everything is not as it seems. Anyone could be a suspect. And as Cooper finds herself unable to leave town, Alec is stalked by an unseen threat. The two investigators race to uncover the truth behind these frightening and insidious mysteries - no matter the cost.

Sixteen Horses is the debut literary thriller from an extraordinary talent, Greg Buchanan. A story of enduring guilt, trauma and punishment, set in a small seaside community the rest of the world has left behind . . .

About the Author

Greg Buchanan was born in 1989 and lives in the Scottish Borders. He studied English at the University of Cambridge and completed a PhD at King's College London in identification and ethics. He is a graduate of UEA's Creative Writing MA. Sixteen Horses is his first novel.

Delivery Info

We provide FREE delivery in the Republic of Ireland when you spend €49 or more. 

FREE Click & Collect from The Ennis Bookshop. You will not be charged for this service.  We are happy to arrange Delivery outside Ireland. Please e-mail us at enquiries@ennisbookshop.ie for more information. 

Find out more about our Delivery & Collection services

Returns Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your order and we would hope to resolve any problems you may have. If you are unhappy with your purchase, we will exchange or refund the item or issue a credit note, providing the goods are not damaged and all packaging is still intact.

Terms and conditions apply.

Please view our full Returns Policy for further information.

Click to view complete product details

'Unlike anything else you'll read this year, Sixteen Horses is a deeply disconcerting ride. Irresistible'
- Val McDermid

'Dark, visceral and disturbing, this highly suspenseful and beautifully written thriller is totally gripping from start to finish. A hugely impressive debut'
- Alex Michaelides, author of The Silent Patient

Original, beautifully written, terrifying and haunting. I won't forget this novel'
- Sophie Hannah, author of Haven't They Grown

'Utterly brilliant. Poetry and cinema at once. If this isn't one of the biggest titles of 2021 I'll eat my hat'
- CJ Cooke, author of The Nesting

'Poignant, chilling, eerie, and gruesome, Sixteen Horses is a thriller with a literary soul, perfect for fans of Netflix's Dark, or BBC's Top of the Lake. Buchanan impressively balances horror and empathy, showing real evil while also exploring the human cost of economic collapse. A unique, ambitious debut that left me shocked and enthralled'
- Sara Sligar, author of Take Me Apart

'A dark, ambitious, and highly intelligent thriller . . . This complex, often gothic tale is definitely an eye-opener'
- Publishers Weekly

'It is far too soon to call a book of the fair, but one early contender has to be Greg Buchanan's debut literary thriller'
- The Bookseller

Close

POP-IN HTML goes here

Close

Your Basket

Your basket is currently empty