Molly Aitken Bright I Burn

€19.99

New
Code 9781786898388
Add to Basket
Description

Binding: Hardback

Date Published: 06 Jun 2024

In thirteenth-century Ireland, a woman with power is a woman to be feared.

When a young Alice Kyteler sees her mother wither under the constraints of family responsibilities, she vows that she won't suffer the same fate. Soon Alice discovers she has a flair for making money, and builds a flourishing business. But as her wealth and stature grow, so too do the rumours about her private life. By the time she has moved on to her fourth husband, a blaze of local gossip and resentment culminates in an accusation that could prove fatal.

Inspired by the first recorded person in Ireland to have been condemned as a witch, Bright I Burn gives voice to a woman lost to history, who dared to carve her own space in a man's world.

About the Author

Molly Aitken was born in Scotland and brought up in Ireland. Her short fiction has appeared in Ploughshares, for which she won the Alice Hoffman Prize for Fiction 2023, Banshee, and has been dramatized for BBC Radio 4. Her first novel The Island Child was longlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award. Molly is currently studying for a PhD in Creative Writing and History at Sheffield Hallam University.

@MollyAitken1 | @molly.aitken

Delivery Info

We provide FREE delivery in the Republic of Ireland when you spend €49 or more. 

FREE Click & Collect from The Ennis Bookshop. You will not be charged for this service.  We are happy to arrange Delivery outside Ireland. Please e-mail us at enquiries@ennisbookshop.ie for more information. 

Find out more about our Delivery & Collection services

Returns Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your order and we would hope to resolve any problems you may have. If you are unhappy with your purchase, we will exchange or refund the item or issue a credit note, providing the goods are not damaged and all packaging is still intact.

Terms and conditions apply.

Please view our full Returns Policy for further information.

Click to view complete product details

'Extraordinary . . . Some of the best prose I've read'
- Elaine Feeney

'Spellbinding witch literature . . . A stunning rendition of one fierce Irish woman's voice pitted against the patriarchal power constructs of Medieval Ireland'
- Anya Bergman

'Aitken is a distinct, singular, stunning voice in historical fiction, and Bright I Burn is a triumph. It took my breath away'
- Jenny Mustard

'A gorgeous, blazing novel, that makes history crackle to life. Fans of Maggie Farrell's Hamnet or A.K. Blakemore's The Manningtree Witches will love Aitken's complex, sensual anti-heroine'
- Clare Pollard

'I was captivated. Every sentence reads like poetry. A stunning, magical, beguiling book'
- Huma Qureshi

'Gripping, poetic, a glorious story of a remarkable woman's passion and her revenge'
- Louisa Reid

'Beautifully told, full of passion and fire, Aitken evokes a vivid sense of time and place through her powerful depiction of a woman determined to maintain her position in a society driven by men. Stunning'
- Jenny Quintana

'An incandescent story, ablaze with the passion and determination of a woman centuries ahead of her time'
- Polly Crosby

'A lushly fevered tale of marriage, murder and moneylending . . . Haunting and powerful'
- Jane Healey

'Darkly atmospheric, this beautiful novel transported me straight to Medieval Ireland'
- Haleh Agar

Close

POP-IN HTML goes here

Close

Your Basket

Your basket is currently empty