Riley Cain The Curse of Silver and Sunlight (Benjamin Blake Book 1)


Limited Signed Copies Available!

Code 9781739371807

Add to Basket

A witch’s whispered promise. A book of wicked spells. A band of rebellious vampires, and a battle to control dark magic.

Rural Essex, 1645 - a time of sorcery and civil war. When 15-year-old Benjamin Blake falls victim to a witch’s fatal prophecy, death comes creeping in. The only chance for survival comes with a price: the curse of silver and sunlight.

Banished from the daytime world forever, Benjamin joins vampires Juno, Darach, Varney, and Brill, as they flee the clutches of evil enchanter Adefina Corvus. Hopes of freedom lie in a stolen book of spells, ready to offer power to whoever can decipher its coded text. None but Adefina has ever succeeded.

The grimoire’s secrets must be revealed if Benjamin and his friends are to escape England’s most wicked witch.

Benjamin is about to open its ghastly pages.

But Adefina is coming, murdering her way back to her precious book.

The chase is on!

About the Author

Riley Cain was born in Dublin City, Ireland, in 1968.

For as long as he can remember, Riley was interested in writing stories, penning his first adventure tales for the entertainment of classmates in school. Always a keen reader, it was when he discovered classic works of supernatural fiction that he decided on the type of stories he would create.

Riley’s first published book, The Halloween House, was released in 2020. It came about after Riley wrote some fun poems for his nieces and nephews, a number of which were spooky Halloween tales. He challenged himself to write one for each day of October and eventually had the collection that makes up The Halloween House(readers regularly tell Riley that The Witch’s Knickers is a personal favourite).

In 2021 Riley published his first full novel for younger readers. Keeping with spooky themes and a rich cast of ghosts associated with his native Dublin, Riley dipped into Ireland’s mythology to create Banshee Rising. The tale follows the adventures of Caitlyn McCabe, a girl with the most unusual ability to see those dwelling in the spirit world. When she is guided by the mysterious Professor Sackimum Brody to fully understand her gift, Caitlyn is plunged into a race against time to defeat an ancient evil rising from Ireland’s haunted heart to threaten the world.

Riley still lives in Dublin and continues to work with all manner of ghosts and gods to write supernatural adventures and more spooky poems to share with the world.

Delivery Info

We provide FREE delivery in the Republic of Ireland when you spend €49 or more. 

FREE Click & Collect from The Ennis Bookshop. You will not be charged for this service.  We are happy to arrange Delivery outside Ireland. Please e-mail us at for more information. 

Find out more about our Delivery & Collection services

Returns Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your order and we would hope to resolve any problems you may have. If you are unhappy with your purchase, we will exchange or refund the item or issue a credit note, providing the goods are not damaged and all packaging is still intact.

Terms and conditions apply.

Please view our full Returns Policy for further information.

Click to view complete product details

POP-IN HTML goes here


Your Basket

Your basket is currently empty